FORTRESS HOHENSALZBURG

Salzburg fortress – the landmark and its offer

Salzburg fortress towers over the rooftops of Salzburg. Experience the diverse offers of this medieval castle.

Salzburg fortress spreads out over a length of up to 250 metres and has a width of up to 150 metres, thereby making it the largest preserved fortification in Central Europe. The castle complex is situated on the fortress mountain directly in the centre of Salzburg. You can comfortably reach Salzburg fortress with the fortress railway.

The fortress mountain is joined to the Mönchsberg. After your visit to the castle, you still have time for an atmospheric stroll there and can enjoy some magnificent views of the town.

On the castle itself, architecture at its most imposing and several museums await you, such as the recently redesigned fortress museum and the “World of Puppets” museum, the kind of which you won’t find anywhere else in Europe, what with its unique exhibits from the world-famous Marionette theatre as well as other countries around the world. In this museum, you can have a go at puppeteering, amongst other things – enjoy yourself!

It’s also certainly worth mentioning the Castle Tavern with the historic Castle Hall as well as the Panorama Restaurant on Salzburg fortress with 2 unique panoramic terraces, which guarantee an unforgettable view of the town and countryside.

The oldest part of the castle can boast more than 900 years of history. In around 1077, the past part was completed. In the centuries afterwards, the many different lords of the castle – the Salzburg archbishops - continued to develop the fortress. The money required for this was obtained from salt mining, as the “white gold” had made rich men of Salzburg’s rulers.

The greatest challenge for the medieval weir system was posed by the revolts staged by farmers and miners in 1525. However, the fortress always proved to be impregnable, as it continues to do so now. You can experience several anecdotes about the castle’s long history during a tour of the castle through the colossal rooms and walls.    

We are happy to help organise a special guided tour for you.

As well as the exquisite gastronomical offer provided by the Fortress Restaurant on Salzburg fortress   and the Castle Tavern with its historic Castle Hall, it is above all the 300 Best of Mozart Fortress Concerts in the Golden Hall played every year, which bring the fortress to life in the evening. The magnificent facilities on the fortress are suited for company celebrations, weddings and much more! For example, you could treat yourself and your guests to a Knight Meal, with all kinds of fun involved. On many occasions, there are also special offers for you, such as the orchestral concerts which take place from May to October, the impressive Advent concerts and the New Year’s Eve gala event - with a reception which includes sparkling wine - as well as waltzes on the panoramic terrace during the New Year’s Eve fireworks.

It’s up to you to decide which one of our many offers appeals to you the most. Salzburg Highlights will take care of the organisation for your ideal programme. As the organiser of the Salzburg Fortress Concerts and the operator of the Panorama Fortress on Salzburg fortress as well as the Castle Tavern with its historic Castle Hall, Salzburg Highlights is your primary contact for activities of all sorts on the fortress. Trust the professionals – and inform yourself today about company outings and packages with Salzburg Highlights.

QUESTIONS?

+43 (0)662 825858


© 2014 - 2017 salzburghighlights.com

Salzburg Highlights

  • Youtube
  • Facebook

Festung Hohensalzburg

Festung Hohensalzburg – Das Wahrzeichen und sein Angebot

Die Festung Hohensalzburg thront über den Dächern der Mozartstadt. Erleben Sie die vielfältigen Angebote dieser mittelalterlichen Burg, wie die Mozart Konzerte in Salzburg.

Die Festung Hohensalzburg erstreckt sich in der Länge auf bis zu 250 und in der Breite auf bis zu 150 Meter. Sie ist somit der größte erhaltene Festungsbau Mitteleuropas. Die Burganlage liegt auf dem Festungsberg mitten im Zentrum von Salzburg. Sie erreichen die Festung Hohensalzburg bequem mit der Festungsbahn.

Der Festungsberg ist mit dem Mönchsberg verbunden. Nach Ihrem Besuch auf der Burg können Sie dort noch stimmungsvolle Stadtwanderungen unternehmen und traumhafte Ausblicke über die Stadt genießen oder in der Vorweihnachtszeit die Weihnachts- & Adventkonzerte Salzburgs genießen.

Auf der Burg selbst erwartet Sie eine imposante Architektur und einige Museen wie z.B. das neu gestaltete Festungsmuseum und das europaweit einzigartige Museum „Welt der Marionetten“, mit einzigartigen Exponaten aus dem weltberühmten Marionettentheater sowie aus anderen Ländern der Welt. In diesem Museum können Sie sich u.a. selber an den Marionetten ausprobieren - viel Vergnügen!
Besonders zu erwähnen ist auch die Burgschenke mit dem historischen Burgsaal sowie das Panoramarestaurant zur Festung Hohensalzburg mit 2 einzigartigen Aussichtsterrassen, die einen unvergesslichen Blick über Stadt und Land gewähren.
Mehr als 900 Jahre Geschichte hat der älteste Teil der Burg aufzuweisen. Etwa um 1077 wurde der erste Teil fertig gestellt. In den darauf folgenden Jahrhunderten bauten die verschiedensten Hausherren der Festung – die Salzburger Erzbischöfe – an der Burg weiter. Das Geld dafür stammte aus dem Salzbergbau, das „weiße Gold“ hatte die Salzburger Herrscher zu reichen Männern gemacht.

Die größte Herausforderung für die mittelalterliche Wehranlage bildeten die Aufstände der Bauern und Bergknappen im Jahre 1525. Die Festung war jedoch stets uneinnehmbar und ist dies auch geblieben. Zahlreiche Anekdoten aus der langen Geschichte der Burg erfahren Sie bei einer Burgbesichtigung durch die kolossalen Räume und Mauern.
Gerne sind wir Ihnen bei der Organisation einer Sonderführung behilflich.

Neben dem erlesenen gastronomischen Angebot des Restaurants zur Festung Hohensalzburg und der Burgschenke mit historischem Burgsaal sind es vor allem die jährlich 300 Best of Mozart Festungskonzerte im Goldenen Saal, die die Festung auch abends beleben. Die prunkvollen Räumlichkeiten auf der Festung eignen sich für Firmenfeiern, Hochzeiten und vieles mehr!
Dabei können Sie sich und Ihren Gästen auch ein Ritteressen gönnen, der Spaß ist inkludiert. Zu vielen Anlässen gibt es auch besondere Angebote für Sie, wie etwa die von Mai bis Oktober stattfindenden Orchesterkonzerte, die stimmungsvollen Adventkonzerte, die Silvestergala mit Sektempfang und Walzerklängen auf der Aussichtsterrasse zum Silvesterfeuerwerk.

Es liegt an Ihnen, für welches der zahlreichen Angebote Sie sich beim Sightseeing in Salzburg entscheiden. Salzburg Highlights sorgt für die Organisation Ihres Wunschprogramms. Als Veranstalter der Salzburger Festungskonzerte und Betreiber des Panorama Restaurant zur Festung Hohensalzburg sowie der Burgschenke mit dem historischen Burgsaal ist Salzburg Highlights Ihr erster Ansprechpartner für Unternehmungen aller Art auf der Festung.
Vertrauen Sie dem Profi – und informieren Sie sich noch heute über die Betriebsausflüge und Pauschalreisen von Salzburg Highlights.

 

HABEN SIE FRAGEN?

+43 (0)662 825858


© 2014 - 2017 salzburghighlights.com

Salzburg Highlights

  • Youtube
  • Facebook